Recipe: Cherry Almond Granola

I’ve wanted to make a homemade granola for awhile and finally took the plunge. I have been collecting a lot of recipes on Pinterest. Some of my favorites include coconut oil granola, vanilla almond granola and a simple granola recipe. I liked the idea of using coconut oil, and honey rather than sugar. I decided to use all of the above recipes as guides, but created my own recipe based on the flavors I wanted and what I had on hand (I have a huge Ziploc bag of Michigan dried cherries that were meant to be in granola).

IMG_0262
Cherry Almond Granola

Ingredients:

1 cup almonds, divided*
3 cups old fashioned rolled oats
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup honey
3 Tablespoons coconut oil
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 cup dried cherries

Directions:

Preheat oven to 275 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (one with edges works best for this recipe). Place 1/2 cup of almonds in a food processor and grind them to a fine powder. Add the ground almond to a large mixing bowl. Chop the other 1/2 cup of almonds in the food processor, then add to the mixing bowl along with the rolled oats and salt. Toss dry ingredients together.

Put the honey and coconut oil in a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 30-45 seconds, just until the coconut oil begins to melt. Add the vanilla and almond extract. Stir until the coconut oil is completely melted.

Add the liquids to the dry ingredients. Toss until moistened. Spread the mixture on the prepared baking sheet. Bake for 1 hour, stirring every 20 minutes. Add the dried cherries for the last 10 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool, but do not stir – this will help clusters to form.

Recipe makes about 5 cups of granola. Store in air tight container or Ziploc bag.

I plan to eat my granola with 0% Fage or with milk for breakfast.

*Rather than using several types of nuts, I decided to stick with almonds. Again, it’s what I had on hand! I decided to prep the almonds two different ways – ground and chopped – to gain more texture in the granola. Feel free to use any combination of nuts equaling 1 cup.

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Cherry Almond Granola

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Berry and Spinach Smoothie Bowl | appearance and demeanor

Leave a Reply

